GuilhemMariotte


PhD, Civil Engineer

Traffic modeling for large-scale transportation systems

My research interests are about modeling and simulation of road traffic at metropolitan scales for traffic operations, management and control. With classical modeling tools, large-scale simulation requires extensive knowledge of individual trip patterns, hardly accessible in practice, and very long computational time which makes some real-time applications impossible. Therefore new models have arised to reduce urban network complexity, while still fairly reproducing congestion dynamics in metropolitan areas.

My PhD, supervised by Prof. Ludovic Leclercq (Lyon, France), was aimed at developing a macroscopic simulation platform for large-scale urban areas. This tool is based on the very novel Macroscopic Fundamental Diagram (MFD) concept, which describes congestion level in a homogeneous urban region. Road traffic flow in a city can then be represented by clustering the area into several regions that exchange flows of vehicles with each other. This modeling approach was validated through different comparisons with other existing simulation tools, and traffic data from Lyon's urban area (France).

The MAGnUM Project

This thesis was supported by a European Research Council (ERC) grant entitled MAGnUM: Multiscale and Multimodal Traffic Modelling Approach for Sustainable Management of Urban Mobility. This project has received funding from the European Commission under the Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation Program.

logo-magnum logo-erc logo-eurocommission

LICIT lab: ENTPE-IFSTTAR joint research laboratory

I am working at the LICIT lab (Transport and Traffic Engineering Lab). This one is partly located at the ENTPE school (National Engineering School for State Public Works), which is affiliated to the University of Lyon (France). This laboratory was initially part of the INRETS institute (National Research Institute on Transportation and its Safety), which merged some years ago with the LCPC lab (Central Lab from École des Ponts Paris) to create the IFSTTAR institute (French Institute of Science and Technology for Transport, Development and Networks).

logo-univlyon logo-univlyon
logo-entpe logo-ifsttar

GuilhemMariotte


Doctorant-ingénieur en Génie Civil

Modélisation des grands réseaux de transports

L’objectif de cette thèse est de proposer une approche innovante intégrant et combinant plusieurs types de modélisation afin d’obtenir un premier outil opérationnel de simulation et d’analyse des grands réseaux de métropoles. Cette approche se veut de plus « hybride » à deux niveaux : d’abord en ce qui concerne la description des interfaces entre plusieurs types de représentations des flux de déplacement (microscopique, mésoscopique, macroscopique), et ensuite dans la gestion de la multimodalité au niveau des nœuds d’échange entre différents modes de transport.

Mes premiers travaux se focalisent sur le développement d’une plateforme de modélisation macroscopique des réseaux de voirie, basée sur le concept récent du Diagramme Fondamental de Zone (Macroscopic Fundamental Diagram, MFD). La validation de ce modèle sera faite grâce à des comparaisons avec d’autres outils de simulation existants (microscopique et mésoscopique), ainsi qu'au moyen de données de trafic provenant du Grand Lyon.

Directeur de thèse : Ludovic Leclercq, enseignant-chercheur à l'ENTPE (Lyon)

Le projet MAGnUM

Cette thèse est partie intégrante d'un projet européen ERC (European Research Council) intitulé MAGnUM : Approche multi-échelle et multimodale de la modélisation du trafic pour une gestion durable de la mobilité urbaine. La thèse est ainsi financée par ce projet via la Commission Européenne sous le programme de recherche et d'innovation Horizon 2020.

logo-magnum logo-erc logo-eurocommission

Le LICIT, une unité mixte de recherche ENTPE-IFSTTAR

Cette thèse se déroule au laboratoire LICIT (Laboratoire Ingénierie Circulation Transports), à l'origine basé à l'ENTPE (École Nationale Supérieure des Travaux Publics de l'État), membre de l'Université de Lyon. Il était anciennement rattaché à l'INRETS (Institut National de Recherche sur les Transports et leur Sécurité) dont la fusion avec le LCPC (Laboratoire Central des Ponts et Chaussés) a donné naissance à l'IFSTTAR (Institut Français des Sciences et Technologies des Transports, de l'Aménagement et des Réseaux).

logo-univlyon logo-univlyon
logo-entpe logo-ifsttar